Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:00 a.m. - Monday, Oct. 24, 2011
Monday Blues
It is Monday again already. I am so very tired of living for the weekend. And at the rate that things are going the new retirement age will be 152. I mean as it is I still have another 20 something years to go. I really do not want to be in my 60s or 70s to retire. I mean I hope that I will be healthy enough to still be working at that age, but shit I want to not have to think about cramming a vacation into 2 or 3 days or weeks and then have to go back to work. I want to be young and healthy enough to enjoy my real life, not my time between work life.

I am not one of those people that was blessed enough to have a career. I have a job. I earn a paycheck. I am not at work because I enjoy what I do. Don�t get me wrong I am so very happy to be employed. But if I could find some way to not work just to earn a paycheck, boy would I. The problem with that is of course I have no idea what job would be a �career� for me. I enjoyed bartending, but the pay isn�t consistent enough and I have a family to support. I was in college for Culinary Arts, but said family got started a little earlier than expected so full time employment was a necessity and my local college didn�t offer night classes for my major. And like bartending, hours and pay for the culinary field are not conducive to raising kids.

So here I am at 36 still wishing I knew what I want to do when I grow up, and then once I figure that out, how do I even begin?

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web counter
web counter